Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed


Congressman Bruce Poliquin

Representing the 2nd District of Maine

House Passes Anti-Harassment Resolution Co-Authored By Rep. Poliquin Unanimously

November 29, 2017
Press Release
The comprehensive resolution expands upon a measure Rep. Poliquin and Democrat Rep. Jackie Speier introduced earlier this month to require House Members and their staffs to undergo mandatory sexual harassment awareness training

WASHINGTON – The House of Representatives today unanimously approved a measure from Congressman Bruce Poliquin (R-ME-02), Congresswoman Jackie Speier (D-CA-14), and a bipartisan group of lawmakers that would make changes to rules on Capitol Hill to require Members of Congress and their staffs to undergo workplace sexual harassment awareness and prevention training. The new resolution expands upon a measure introduced by Poliquin and Speier earlier this month.


Congressman Poliquin spoke today on the House Floor:



“Employees should always feel safe and comfortable in their own workplace, and it’s past time Congress moves in that direction,” said Congressman Poliquin. “I’m proud and pleased to work across the aisle on this issue to bring about some important and long overdue changes to Capitol Hill.”


Currently, it is optional for House Members and staff to take the sexual harassment awareness and prevention training. This resolution makes the training mandatory. Congressman Poliquin and his staff have all completed the training.


Earlier this month, Congressman Poliquin joined Congresswoman Speier and Senator Kirsten Gillibrand (D-NY) for a press conference on their own comprehensive sexual harassment legislation to provide better resources for victims and to make other changes to policies on Capitol Hill regarding harassment and assault.


The resolution that passed unanimously in the House today makes minor adjustments to the original measure to also require House offices to physically post a statement of employees’ rights and protections in the workplace. It was introduced by Congressman Poliquin, Congresswoman Barbara Comstock (R-VA), Congresswoman Jackie Speier (D-CA), Congressmen Gregg Harper (R-MS) and Robert Brady (D-PA).